Highlights Of Club History

  • Formation with the amalgamation of the Lincoln Wheelers, Lincoln Imps, Witham Valley RRC in October 1965. 
  • Take over the promotion of the Witham Valley Grand Prix in 1966. 
  • Change name of the Witham Valley GP to Lincoln Grand Prix in 1968 
  • VCL promotes the National Professional Road Race Championship won by Colin Lewis in 1968 
  • The club is sponsored by Mike Rippon of Metheringham Car Sales in 1980 
  • Impsport - Sponsors VCL in 1982 
  • Stuart Marshall wins National Juvenile Cyclo cross Championship in 1983 
  • Yarborough Closed circuit is opened by David Jackson and Malcolm Elliott who does a 1 lap TT in 2mins 1 second April 1984 
  • Ian Wright Wins National Juvenile Circuit Championship in both 1985 and 1986 
  • Ian Wright wins the Juvenile Tour of Assen in Holland in 1985 and again in 1986 (beats Erik Decker) 
  • Helen Parritt won silver 1985 national women's 50 mile time trial and bronze medal national 100 mile women's time trial 1982.
  • Ian Emmerson is elected President of the British Cycling Federation in 1985 
  • Stuart Marshall wins the Junior World Cyclo Cross Championship in Belgium in 1986 
  • Ian Wright wins National Juvenile Pursuit Championship in 1985 followed by a bronze medal in the Junior Kilometre in 1986 and a silver in the Junior Points in 1987 
  • Ian Wright wins the National Junior Cyclo Cross Championships in both 1986/87 and 1987/88 
  • Richard Wright wins National Under14's Cyclo Cross 1988 
  • Ian Wright wins the Junior West Common RR in Lincoln 1988 
  • The Club promotes the National Junior Road Race Championship in 1989 
  • Ian Wright wins Junior National Cyclo Cross Trophy Series in 1989 
  • Richard Wright wins National Juvenile Pursuit & 500m Time Trial and silver in the National Juvenile Sprint in 1989 
  • Richard Wright wins 3 National Juvenile Track titles. The Pursuit, 500m Time Trial and Sprint in 1990 
  • Club President David Jackson is the new Mayor of Lincoln with Ian Emmerson as the City Sheriff in 1990/1991 
  • Richard Wright gets silver in the National Junior Sprint in 1991 
  • Richard Wright wins Junior Kilo Time Trial and gets bronze in the Pursuit in 1992. 
  • Ian Wright selected for GB team in Milk Race in 1992 and 1993 
  • Richard Hobby wins Junior National Peter Buckley road race in Bristol he also finishes 2nd in the Peter Buckley West Common RR in 1994 
  • Ian Emmerson awarded OBE for services to cycling in 1994 
  • Helen MacGregor wins National 800 metres grass track championship 
  • TMS Landrover Sponsor VCL in 1998 
  • Richard Hobby wins the National under 23 Road race championship in 1998 
  • Lincoln Grand Prix gains International Status in 1999 
  • Helen MacGregor wins British Cyclo Cross National Trophy Competition in 2000.
  • Steve Barron wins British Cyclo Cross National Championships Veterans 45+ 2007/8 
  • Numerous Eastern Counties, British Schools, And Lincolnshire titles have also been won.

Pygott & Crone and Bang & Olufsen continue their sponsorship of VCL and are joined by website sponsor Ellmore Consultancy for the 2014 season. For 2015 the club has switched to Ellmore Clothing to supply the club clothing. 

If any club member have any further information to add to the list please email it to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

 Copyright © Velo Club Lincoln. All Rights Reserved.